Feedback Guts, Part 3

Personal Growth

I’ve been sharing the results of my President’s Performance Feedback (two previous posts: Part 1 here,  and Part 2 here).

Here’s another survey question in which I wasn’t sure how the results would turn out:  If you could offer constructive criticism to the chapter president, what would you say?

If I had to guess, I would say they would say I pushed too hard. I would think they might say that I should ask for the entire board’s opinion more often, instead of just asking a few team members who were responsible for the particular committee/task work. That’s what I would think.

So I was a little surprised by some of the results of that question . . . survey said:

  • I am in awe of Judy’s drive and vision. However, I think sometimes she approaches our small chapter as if it were a huge company or project. There has been too much paperwork required of the board this year. And some of the terminology she uses feels overly-corporate and unappealing. Tendency towards micro-managing. But I wish our chapter had 10 more Judys!
  • Loosen the reigns a bit! We are a volunteer organization. People are giving up their personal time to participate in programs and be on the BoD. That needs to be remembered when it comes to time commitments and reporting.
  • I’m impressed with what she’s accomplished but I don’t think it’s sustainable.

I’m not sure what “I don’t think it’s sustainable” means. Does that mean the changes we’ve made? Until I know what the respondent meant by that, I won’t be able to do anything with that response or make any changes if changes are needed.

On the “Loosen the reigns a bit!” and “too much paperwork” responses: Yes, I did ask the board to send me progress reports before each board meeting, and I asked them to report on three things: what did you accomplish, what are you working on, and are there any red flags. I wasn’t on the board the previous year, so I don’t know if this is what they are referring to. Having the board send me progress reports helped me formulate the questions I felt I needed to ask in order to help make sure the committee chairs’ work kept going, to make sure nothing fell through the cracks by asking those progress report questions. Should I stop requesting those progress reports just because two people commented about too much reporting/paperwork? I’d hate to have to do that, because those reports are a management tool for me.

And, it would be helpful if I had some examples of the “overly-corporate and unappealing terminology.” So some of the words I used bothered someone? I don’t recall purposely trying to use certain words. And right now, I can’t recall any words that I typically wouldn’t use or don’t use in other situations. Yes, it would definitely help if I knew what words they speak of, because then I would get a sense of how what I’m saying—the words I’m using—might be a turn off for some people.

Micro-managing? Me? Maybe. Okay, yeah, I guess I could see that. But as I said before, is it micro-managing, or is it just paying attention to details, staying on top of things so things get done, no one drops the ball? I’m not hovering (how can you hover when you don’t even work in the same office?). I’m not checking in with them on a daily basis (sometimes I don’t check in until our next monthly board meeting). Micro-managing examples would be most appreciated here, so I can see what I’m doing to make them think I’m micro-managing.

Yes, there’s always room for personal growth.

