There’s this woman at work

As I wrote the title of this post, it felt like it might be interpreted as the start of some gossip. Yes, I’m going to talk a bit about that woman, but it’s definitely not gossiping.

Although that woman and I are both in the admin group, our jobs don’t have us working closely together. She sits near me, though, and sometimes hears the same conversations I’m hearing from within the office.

And let me tell you—there’s been some drama going on (and I feel like I’m in the crossfire).

What is it about co-workers who make such a big deal about things during the course of their workday? I mean, really. Can’t you just leave some stuff alone? The stuff that’s not in your circle of influence? The stuff that has nothing to do with you? Why do you feel the need to get involved in another co-workers’ business? Why do you feel the need to share that kind of stuff with your co-workers?

Yeah, yeah . . . it appears you are trying to be helpful, but you know what? The people who don’t like overhearing the gossip and the derogatory remarks someone makes about another, and the drama you pull co-workers into . . . well, they’d rather not have you be helpful to them if it means you are gossiping, even in a roundabout way (you know I can see right through your, “I just thought you should know because . . . ,” right?).

Ugh.

Witnessing it, hearing it, and trying to stay out of that drama can really tax a person, you know?

Okay. Enough of the ranting. Let me get back to that woman.

Nope, she wasn’t involved in the drama. But, she did make a point of telling me that she is learning to and getting better at not getting sucked into all that negative stuff.

Double yay for her!

So I said (stating a fact, and throwing the “D” word in there because that’s what it feels like), that there’s been a lot of drama going on, and she acknowledged it (from where we sit, we can hear it, see it, feel it). And I told her it’s hard for me to be able to stand up and say “I don’t want to be involved in that” (what I had to say the other day). And she told me she is learning to say, “I don’t want to hear about that.”

So that woman at work, bless her heart for sharing: She inspired me to try to be a bit stronger and not be so afraid to tell others that I don’t want to be a part of or hear that. No way. Nope. Not even.

I’m going to keep working on that, because . . .

there’s this other woman at work.

