Confession #7: One of the hardest decisions I’ve had to make

This new job of mine is challenging. Invigorating. Interesting. Exciting. And very intense, in terms of no longer being able to focus on any of the extracurricular activities that I had been focusing on before taking on this new role.

Specifically, the volunteering I was doing for SDA (Society for Design Administration), and especially for the Seattle chapter. I knew I needed to do something.

So I slept on it. I talked things through with my husband. I had long, internal conversations with myself in which I played out various scenarios—should I do that; could I do that; what if I didn’t do that?

And it ultimately came down to this: I could not give SDA the best of me (even a half-hearted attempt of me) while doing my new, challenging day job. My paying job.

I needed to have a chat with the chapter’s President-elect.

I told her that it wasn’t fair to the chapter to have the President not be available during business hours. I told her about my new job and how challenging it was.

I told her of the very hard decision that I came to, which was that I needed to step down as chapter president, for the good of the chapter (and my sanity).

There, I said it. (And without any ugly crying, although I remember I did tear up just a bit at one time).

One of the hardest decisions I’ve had to make: Go back on the promise I made when I was installed as chapter president.

Crap.

On the bright side for me: The current chapter board members are awesome! Dedicated. Committed to their positions. Willing to take on additional duties (because I stepped down from the president’s position). I know things are going to be just fine with the chapter this year.

I still feel like a s**t for stepping down, instead of trying to ride things out. I did the right thing. Right?

3 thoughts on “Confession #7: One of the hardest decisions I’ve had to make

  1. When I read this, the first thing I thought was “why didn’t she have a chat with the boss at her new job first?” — What makes your new job so challenging? Is there a way to shuffle some things around so that you can still do all the extracurricular stuff you love to do?

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to reply. Good points, Erin. Some of the stuff I love to do is better done during the work day, but given my new position, it’s challenging to focus on the needs of my client, plus all that non-paying work. So I opted out of the non-paying work. (I love a good challenge, and so I’m able to focus more on being able to add value to our client.) I did however, tell the chapter I could continue with the website upkeep (which I do love to do), because that can easily be done after hours. So in the end, I think I’m getting the best of both worlds – a challenging job (one job) during the day, plus free to do the extracurricular in a non-hurried peace of mind after hours.

      Like

      • That sounds perfect, Judy! I totally understand this balance and trying to make it work in our busy schedules. I work 10 hours a day at a job I’m no longer passionate about, while at the same time running a business on the side. It’s no easy task!!

        Like

Your comments, thoughts, reactions, questions (raves and rants?) are always welcome here!

