Teleworking broke a habit

So, I’ve been working from home since March 18. Before teleworking, I would come home from work and wind down. One of the things I was really good about remembering to do after I got off work was to take my allergy pill. It was basically a habit . . . come home from, get something to drink, swallow that pill.

Since teleworking – for two days! – I forgot to take my allergy pill!

Why? Because my habit was broken. I wasn’t coming home from work.

I was already at home. There was no leaving the office. Catching the bus. Getting in the car at the park-and-ride. Driving home. Walking in the front door. Changing out of my work clothes. Going to the kitchen to get a drink to swallow that pill.

That was habit (a good habit for me so my allergen-induced asthma wouldn’t rear its ugly head).

The habit was broken the day I began teleworking.

And that made me forget to take my allergy pill for two days.

My new mindset: Don’t break the good habits just because you are working from home.

Speaking of working from home, our Regional Business Manager shared with us this article: https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/12/smarter-living/how-to-work-from-home-if-youve-never-done-it-before.html (thank you Regional Business Manager!).

A quick glance through, and guess what? The author suggests keeping the same schedule.

I need to do that, keep my schedule of taking my allergy pill, even though I’m no longer walking through the front door after work.